Eisenman crashing Cincinnatti

Design Observer always has some very good writing on design, and frequently on architecture.

This article–What’s that crashing sound? –is Michael Beirut’s recollection about the evolution of the University of Cincinnatti campus and the contribution of Graves:

Through some impossible feat of topology, he had simply taken the existing building complex, dropped it straight through its own bleak heart, and smashed it. Then he took the gloriously twisted result, and built it, full size, right where it landed. And there it stands, ten years later.

I can’t say it made sense to drop those old metal stools back when I was a college junior. I can’t say that Eisenman’s spaces make sense. I don’t know why we did it, and I don’t know why he did it. All I can say for sure is that sometimes something just feels right. And all these years later, I can still hear that crashing sound.

Leave a Reply

